et | en


The Estonian Institute offers scholarships to holders of a doctoral degree or Master’s or Doctoral students who are citizens of a foreign state and are studying at a university abroad, to write a research paper on an Estonia-related topic or to gather material for it.

The deadlines are 01 March and 01 October.

The scholarship is designated to cover subsistence expenses, tuition fees and costs directly connected with the research; it may be granted for a period ranging from two to ten months.  Most offen the grant period is 2-5 months. The scholarship for one month is 500 EUR.

Knowledge of Estonian is an advantage but not a requirement.

The scholarship is granted by the Council of Academic Studies of Estonian Language and Culture Abroad, involving experts when necessary. The scholarship is financed by the Estonian Ministry of Education and Research and administered by the Estonian Institute.

The following documents should be presented for applying:

  • Estophilus' online application form

  • The completed application form (Please send this form by regular mail)

  • Plan of research

  • CV

  • Certificate proving the applicant’s status as a postgraduate student or a copy of a document proving his or her PhD degree

  • Written confirmation from an Estonian research or development institution to receive the applicant. In the confirmation letter, the receiver must give a short overview in Estonian about the research topic and justify the significance of the research for Estonia (max 1 A4).

  • For postgraduate students a recommendation from their research supervisor

The application and accompanying documents, marked ‘Estophilus', should be submitted also by regular mail to the secretariat of the Council at the Estonian Institute, Suur-Karja 14, 10140 Tallinn.

We ask you to fill also the Estophilus' online application form.

Further information can be obtained via e-mail katrin.maiste at or phone + 372 6 314 355+ 372 6 314 355.

Application form (in Estonian and English)

Plan of research

Instructions for applicants:
in Estonian
in English

Scholarship regulations (in Estonian)

The grantee must present to the Estonian Institute a report of about the use of the scholarship during two months after the end of the scholarship period.

The Recipients of the Estophilus Scholarship

Spring 2014:

Iain Ferguson (UK) The Governing of Minority Protection: The EU-Russia Security Dilemma (5 months);

Edit Foldi (Hungary) Environmental Pollution and Waste Management (5 months);

Dina Lentsner (USA) Estonian poetry in vocal music of Lepo Sumera (3 months);

Ivan Petrov (Russia) Estonian Orthodox parishes in the USSR in 1940-1980-th (5 months);

Taras Repytskyi (Ukraine) E-government as a tool for democratic transformation and development on the example of Estonia (5 months);

Guntis Smitchens (USA) Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian National Identity in Choral Song Festivals (1 months).

Spring 2013:

Viktor Pál (Hungary), Industrial Water Pollution and Water Protection in East-Central and Western Europe between the 1950s-70s. Economic and environmental perspectives (scholarship for 5 months).


Virag Markus (Hungary), Contemporary Estonian women's literature (5 months);

Amirhosein Mosavi
(Iran/Hungary), Decision-making behavior in Estonia (5 months);

Andrea Müllerova
(Czech Republic), Estonian Neopaganism (3 months);

Atiyeh Vaezipour
(Iran/Swedish), Business and IT alignment (5 months).

The Council would like to thank all the applicants and wish good luck to the recipient!

For further information, please contact Ms Katrin Maiste (katrin.maiste at

The Recipients of the Estophilus Scholarship 2012

Spring 2012:

Anikò Nikolett Toth (Hungary), Suuna- ja ilmakaarenimede süsteem läänemeresoome keeltes (scholarship for 5 months);

Maria Zheltukhina (Russia), Grammatilised vahendid lokaalsuhete väljendamiseks eesti ja soome keeles (scholarship for 5 months);

Ninni Maria Jalli (Finland), Soomlased eesti käitumiskultuuris (scholarship for 5 months);

Aleksandar Vanchoski (Macedonia), European police cooperation under the rules of EUROPOL (scholarship for 2 months).


Michalina Bedka (Poland), Old Believers in Estonia (scholarship for 5 months);

Natalia Hoffman (Poland), Visual Culture of Estonia: Semiotic Approach (scholarship for 2 months);

Charles Mifsud (Malta), The Estonian Educational System – A Success Story by International Standards (scholarship for 2 months);

Anna Malkova (Rusland), The changes of long wowels in Estonian and Finnish (scholarship for 3 months);

Martin Porse Staerkaer (Denmark), Semiotic modeling of the human-animal relationship in Estonia (scholarship for 2 months);

Mari Shioya (Japan), Metagovernance and Community Response to Environmental Change:
Resilience towards Sustainable Society in Estonia
(scholarship for 5 months);

The Council would like to thank all the applicants and wish good luck to the recipients!

Spring 2011:

Darrell Francis (USA) The motivation behind Estonia's adoption of the Euro in 2011 (5 months)

Teresa González Gómez (Spain) Cross-border cooperation (South Finland with North Estonia and South Portugal and Spain) (4 months)

Witold Kubiniec (Poland) The Chancellor of Justice of Estonia (5 months)

Maria Cristina Morandi (Italy) Estonian hyperrealism in 1970s (5 months)

Autumn 2011

Alexandr Svetlicinii (Moldova) Competition rules and competition culture in small market economies (5 months)

Martin Jean Alex Carayol (France) Formation of canons in Estonian and Finnish short stories (5 months)

Kari Petteri Alenius (Finland) Cultural and propaganda activities of Estonian Self-Administration (5 months)

The Recipients of the Estophilus Scholarship 2010

The Council of Academic Studies of Estonian Language and Culture Abroad has selected the recipients of the Estophilus scholarship for 2010.

Spring 2010:

Sonja Balaz (Deutschland) Discourse Analysis of the
Integration Discourse in the Estonian Newspaper ‘Postimees’ 1995-2000
(3 months),

Brent McKenzie (Canada) The Story of Tallinna Kaubamaja and the History of Retail Trade in Estonia (5 months),

Helena Sulkala (Finland) The Status of Finnic Minority Languages from the Pupils’ Perspective (5 months).

Autumn 2010:

Stamatios Christopoulos
(Creek) The Impact of Estonian Rural Development Policies on Social Welfare and Natural Environment (5 months),

Matej Gorsič (Slovenia) Ethnolinguistic View on Formation of Estonian National Consciousness (5 months),

Petra Hebedová (Chech) The Comparative Typology of Finnish and Estonian: The Comparison of Word Forms (5 months),

Hanna-Ilona Härmävaara (Finland) The Contact of Estonian and Finnish: Receptive Multilingualism (3 months),

Jeroen Moes (Dutch) Conceptualizations of Europe in a Supra-national Perspective across Social Groups and Networks, and the European Identifications of Estonians, Italians, and Dutch (2 months),

Kazimierz Popławski (Poland) Estonian Foreign Policy 1991-2011 (3 months),

Lars Fredrik Stöcker (Sweden) Oppositional Networks Connecting Sweden with Poland and the Estonian SSR during the Cold War (5 months).

The Recipients of the Estophilus Scholarship 2009

Spring 2009:

Anita Küű (Hungary) Estonian literature after 1945 (scholarship for 3 months),

Sonja Maria Laitinen (Finland) The local language on Kihnu Island (scholarship for 4 months)

Inge Leonarda Johanna Melchior (Netherlands) Contested WWII memories: the Estonian case in a European context (scholarship for 3 months),

Fabian Pfeiffer (Germany) Estonia’s special relations towards the USA (1991 - 2004) (scholarship for 3 months).

Autumn 2009:

Vincent Dautancourt (France) Tallinns geopolicy (5 months);

Krisztina Korencsi (Hungary) Comparison of causative verbs and structures in Fenno-Ugric languages on the typological aspect (2 months).

The Council would like to thank all the applicants and wish good luck to the recipients!

For further information, please contact Ms Katrin Maiste (katrin.maiste at